Gluten Free Flour

20131126-074844.jpg

I find that GF baking takes more time to learn then cooking so you’ll see more posts on the things I’ve tried. You also need to know that I write mainly towards Canadians. In America you guys seem to have it made and there are tons of affordable GF options.

When it comes to buying flour you can always buy that tiny ass bag from Red Mill at most grocery stores. The cashier will just ask you how many installments you would like to make and if you would like to remortgage your house. Or you can go over to bulk barn which has a wide selection of gluten free items. I really like their flour and it works well in all the recipes I make. This does not cancel out rule number 1. There is no xanthan gum in this flour so you will still need to buy a bag. I believe this is why GF flour can be so expensive; XG is already added in perfectly. So when I am using GF flour for anything I use this rule:

1/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum for 1 cup of flour

Make sure if the recipe calls for more xanthan gum that you add it.

So when I start posting more recipes I want you to know that this is the flour I will be using and if it it changes I’ll let you know.

Ill post all my recipes I’ve tried and Ill show you my success an my failures! And there has been a lot of failures, so there will be lots of chances to laugh and learn!

Thanks for reading and may the GF be with you

Brendan Blinch

P.s!! Look for Bulk Barn coupons! They help save you money! Follow them on Facebook or look for it in the newspaper!

Leave a Reply

